When you don’t need words

I was photographing at Butchart Gardens in Victoria, BC recently, bedazzled by the amazing display of dahlias. I was having a lot of fun composing the sea anemone-like shapes, textures and Life-Savers candy colors. After a little while, I pulled out the small crystal ball I keep in my camera bag. As I held it in front of my lens and took a few photos, several photographers from Japan peered over my shoulder, fascinated with the special effects I was getting.

flowers, dahlia, photography, crystal ball, Butchart Gardens

Before I knew it, a middle-aged man in the group turned to me, pointed to the glass ball and lifted his eyebrows with a pleading look. I nodded my head and placed the crystal ball in his hand. For several minutes, he and his friends went from flower to flower, photographing and chatting with great excitement. I couldn’t understand a word they said but, as Jakob Smirnoff said, “Everybody laughs the same in every language because laughter is a universal connection.”

Thanks for visiting. But before you go, here’s a quotation about laughter by Anne Lammott that I want to share with you:

“Laughter is carbonated holiness.”

 dahlia, flowers, photography, Butchart Gardens, Victoria

This entry was posted in Essays and inspirations, Our world, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When you don’t need words

  1. info@dianathompson.com says:

    LOVE IT!!!   hugs!   Diana   

  2. Pam Caetano says:

    Thanks for sharing.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. webbsway . says:

    O MY GOSH – What Beauty that you find.

  4. Eva says:

    Love it! Thanks for sharing some of your time at Butchart Gardens : )

Leave a Reply

